Epistulae ex Ponto (2017)

This is a page dedicated to Larry Alan Smith’s most recent work, Epistulae ex Ponto (2017) – “Letters from the Black Sea” for soprano and orchestra. It includes three videos, as well as information about the piece.

A video of the final movement (approximately 4 minutes) 

Movement VIII only (the final movement)

A video of the complete work (approximately 29 minutes)

Epistulae ex Ponto (2017) – Complete

A video of the composer’s pre-performance comments on March 31, 2017 (approximately 9 minutes)

Pre-performance comments by the composer

Program notes (in English) from the premiere performance on March 31, 2017

Program Notes

The excerpts from Ovid’s poems that are used in the piece

Poems used in Epistulae ex Ponto (English only)

An article that includes information about the work

Larry Alan Smith recently wrote an article about his Ovid-related works for an Italian English-language website, welcometosulmona.com. The link:

My Collaboration with Ovid

Please note: This article incorporates the program notes for Epistulae ex Ponto, but it also includes links to videos of two other works (a ballet scored for oboe/English Horn, clarinet/bass clarinet, cello and piano and a choral work).

Larry Alan Smith would like to thank soprano Cherie Caluda, conductor Edward Cumming and the Hartt Orchestra for bringing Epistulae ex Ponto to life with such care, energy and enthusiasm at the world premiere on March 31, 2017 in West Hartford, CT, USA.

Epistulae ex Ponto is published by Tallow Tree Music Publishing
Exclusive Worldwide Distributor: Theodore Presser Company
Performance materials are available for rental. Please contact the Theodore Presser Company for perusal copies of the full and piano-vocal scores.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s